• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

does a bypass really work?

Marky007

Hi guys, newbie here, just joined up. Im seeing a surgeon on thursday 25th june ( Professor Michael McMahon, Nuffield, Leeds. ) My head is in a spin. I have watched almost every you tube video on gastric bypass, been to almost every website. Im making this huge huge decision to have surgery, but keep comming up on stories about gastric bypass does not work for everyone, i mean not everyone looses weight. Just wondered what anyone thought about this, as i will be making a life long commitment to something that might not work. If i could not diet for ever before the op, how do you diet for ever after the op? My head is now spinning, im desperate to loose weight, at 440lbs and pain now in my knees and ankles, is it the right choice to have surgery? I was looking so much to being thinner in 12 months time, but reading stories of it not working for all people has me worried, that i will be one of those it does not work for. Many thanks guys. Mark

Hi Mark
I hope to God they do work because I hope to be getting one if not the sleeve . I`v been on other sites and the people I`v read about have done very well with the bypass . I know of one family the mother and her three children have had bypasses and they've all done great . But you do have to work with it . I`m 300lb and I also have very bad pains in my hips back and knees and I hope when I get mt surgery it want be as bad . Good luck and take care .
Margaret xx

yep they certainly do work, the more effort you put in the better the results at the end of it x