• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Gastric bypass date.. Worried about previous surgeries

cat1972

Hi, I'm new to this site.. Just got my date through for gastric bypass operation.. 30th oct at derby with Mr Ahmed.
I had a gastric band in 2007 and had it removed in 2010 due to complications. In 2011 I had my Gallbladder removed. All of these operations were keyhole and I am worried I will have too much scared tissue to complete my bypass keyhole. Has anyone had similar issues? Also does anyone know how long I will be off work? I'm a mental health nurse manager and would be able to undertake light duties following my operation.

I had a band, a sleeve and then a bypass all keyhole. My stomach is in a bit of a mess but no issues with scar tissue and I has my final op keyhole too xx

That's good to know, was a bit worried after seeing consultant that he wouldn't be able to do it key hole.

Hi cat
Had my op 4 weeks ago and returned to work last monday. Think everyone is different really; I wanted to go back after two weeks but needed the third week to build up my energy which was very low level for a while. Now I'm back (I'm an NHS therapist) I find Im coping far better than I anticipated. Think if my job was more physical I wouldve struggled more.

Hi Dandilions, that's good to hear, sounds like your recovering well. Has the last 4 weeks been difficult? I have booked 2 weeks leave and hopefully will only need 2 weeks maximum sick. How have you found being back at work? I'm clinical manager so can be office based if I need to be x

Hi Dandilions, thanks for replying its put my mind at ease a little. How's the last 4 weeks been, has it been a struggle? X

Sorry I didn't see your second question.

I was signed off work for 6 weeks as I am a chef so my job involves long hours, standing and lifting. I felt I could have gone back after a week though! I felt amazing after my op.