• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Getting banded in august

scnewbie

Hi I'm new to this and have only started to get confidence up to write some posts. I'm going to Belgium in August!!' Yippee I'm so excited but have a million questions, one main one is ... Do you get pain medication for pain and discomfort after surgery? I'm not good with pain even though I've had 4 children!! I've read about trapped wind and pain in chest/shoulder area. But mainly the few days after surgery, do they give you anything to help with pain??? Thanks xxx

Hi

I have moved your thread into the banders section, yes you get pain relief post op. Theres no need to grin and bear it.

Have a look through some of the threads in this section, you may find some answers. Failing that ask away x

im sure you get pain relief we got soluble paracetomol and found walking best to get rid off wind pain good luck for your op

Hi and welcome. I didn't have much pain ... Was given soluble painkiller ... Like calpol, by the hospital. Best of luck :)

Hi

I was banded on Tuesday - I was given pain relief during my overnight stay and some to bring home, soluble tramadol and paracetamol, I also had bought some kids calpol myself as the soluble paracetamol reminds me of pernod!

The first couple of days I took the pain relief every 4 hours, then I have reduced it and as of today I took some calpol about 8am this morning and had have not had any since.

I have not really had any pain from my actual surgery, what I have suffered with is trapped wind in my shoulder. Thursday was the worst, took windeeze, drank warm water and moved around and it eventually eases. Yesterday and today it is still there but not as bad so hopefully it will get better day by day.

Good luck with your surgery - August will be here before you know it

Justine x