• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hello... I'm a newbie

fatnomoreclo

Hello Everyone,

I'm Chloe (25) from south london. I had my gastric bypass on 20th Dec 2011 at the Princess royal university hospital and my surgeon was Mr El Hasani.

I'm a little bit confused about what i can/can't eat. This Tuesday will be the end of my 4 weeks on liquids, and now i can move on to "mashed up" food. I got told in my useless hospital booklet no carbs until the 4 week mashed up stage was over. However I've read on here & other sites etc that people are having crackers, mash potato, pasta etc & I'm notsure if I should or not.

Also I haven't a clue if if i'm eating enough i'm having 2 petis filous's and half a tin of weight watchers soup a day! Along with glasses of water/sugar free juice & a couple of sugar free polo mints.

I've tried fruit but that ended up with a "lovely" dumping experience. I'm unsure about what other dairy products to have is it safe to have cheese melted? milkshake? also am i allowed semi skimmed milk or just skimmed. The hospital told me sod all & my gp's didn't even know i had surgery.

Any help/advice would be great as its really stressing me out!

Thanks in advance Clo x

hello chloe n welcome x

Hi Chloe, you have to go by the guidlines your hosptal have given you, this is really important.. so dont have the crackrebreads etc unless they say... from liquids i went onto pureed then im now on soft/mashed foods.... so beorei suggest anything.. are you on pureed or soft food stage?

hey clo welcome and good luck :) xxx

hiya and welcome, every hospital have there own rules n I wud stick with wot urs has told u case u have any problems. Hopefully someone who had op in same place may be able to help you better xx