• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hello, newbie here

Sophies_dad

Hi all, my name is Steve, I'm 34 and I have just secured funding and had my 1st psychology appointment today at the Royal Salford Hospital. I have been passed for surgery and I meet with the consultant next month, 18 weeks to op!!

Hi Steve,

Welcome to the boards and a wonderful place it is too :) good news on your funding . . .full steam ahead now

Kat x

Looking at getting a bye pass, but worried about the "risk" as I have 2 small children. I feel very lucky as my GP sent a letter, (refused) then another GP sent a letter together with back up letter from my sleep clinic consultant and funding was granted last month, so 18 weeks I was told until my op! In all I have been on a cpap machine since I was 22, anti depression meds for 3 years and high blood pressure meds for 3 months, no weight loss programmes or month psychology meetings, although I did try orlistat twice and found them useless. :)

I know how you feel. I tried orlistat, lighter life, Cambridge, numerous slimming clubs. I've been on depression meds (up until jan this year) for 5 years. It's time for it all to stop and get well. I won't lie...there are risks but any surgery is a risk whatever it is. The chances of anything happening are very slim. There is more chance of something happening if you don't do anything hun. Just think about getting rid of all those meds and being able to run around with your kiddies. This forum is brilliant and there is so much support and so many people who have had surgery already willing to talk about their experiences xxx

Sent from my iPhone using WLSurgery