• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Help & advice **please**...

Hi everyone, Hope you are all well!?

I am wanting a gastric band fitted with Mr Roger Ackroyd (Private patient) I am a school teacher and was hoping to have the band fitted during the 6 week summer holidays, as I felt this would be an ideal time with been off work and I dont want to have to tell any colleagues about my surgery. However, I have twice cancelled my consultation with Mr Ackroyd (bottled it!!) and now I feel that I have missed the opportunity to have it done this year, as I am not wanting to have any time off work for the surgery.

Also, to make further complications, My partner is pregnant and our first baby is due on the 29th November (we are delighted :) ) I cant help to feel guilty if I did go through with surgery, in case anything went wrong, ect. I need to be there for them both. I hope I am clear because I feel like I'm rambling on!!

In an ideal situation, I would have surgery in August, go back to work in September and look forward to being a slimmer dad! - I don't want to be a morbidly obese father!!! :(

My partner says she will support me regardless........What shall I do, any advice would be greatly received, I need all the help and views as I can get.

Thank you & best wishes everyone!!

John :)

I say go for it! From my consultation to op was 3 weeks. Then only needed 6 days off work...still very achievable. Congrats on becoming a daddy :)

Hi there, I feel your dilemma, I think you should go for it. Many providers will have dates for the first weeks of the summer hols giving you enough time to have your op, recover and be able to get back to work by September. As surgeries go, banding is one of the least risky and remember having an elective surgery with a team of people used to giving a General aneasthetic to heavy people has to be better than any other surgery.