• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Im new to this .... Im on day 4 only had my band done wednesday !!

linsey veysey

Hi all
Just wanted to know .. How long does the pain last for ? I'm on day 4 only had my band done on Wednesday ... But still in pain .. X

Welcome Linsey, thanks for joining us on your journey. I am 12 days post-op, and to be honest didn't need pain killers from day 3, but everyone is different.

You will have been given a prescription on discharge - keep taking as prescribed and if you run out and the pain still bothers you, see your GP.

Gently move around and exercise those muscles, and keep yourself distracted - telly, music, a good book.

Is it more discomfort rather than pain? I remember thinking thank god I'd taken 2 wk off work as at 1 week wasn't as well as I'd expected to be...came on leaps n bounds in that second week... Be patient x

Hi there,

Just wanted to say and welcome to this wonderful site! I had a very easy ride so cannot really help sorry. But any questions, please ask :)

Hi and welcome Linsey. It could be wind pain that you are having. Move around lots, swing your arms around, sit bolt up right in a chair and try drinking peppermint tea (yuk) All these could help to get rid of it. I took kids liquid paracetamol when I got home from hospital as I can't stand the melted tablets even made up with squash. Hope your pain goes soon. The second week will see you so much better.

Love Kate x

Thanks everyone .... Guess I've just had a bad day today ... But it's really good to talk to people that knows what I'm going through ... I just keep thinking about that size 10 dress .. Lol ... But thanks again xxx

Hi Linsey, how are you feeling today?
Just to let too know, I'd say I was in quite bad pain for the first week but as above, came on leaps and bounds in the second week.
Hopefully you're feeling a little more comfortable today. Xx