• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

New & researching clinics

Sazzle1a

Hi all I'm very new to all this and feeling a little lost at the mo but read lots of threads on this site which is helping. Back story is I've dieted since I was 16 (so 22 years!). Weight has been up and down in that time, mainly up! I'm about 5-6 stone overweight and feel now like it's really beginning to have an effect on me - achy back, knees, hips. I have an active job where I'm on my feet all day so think the extra pounds are not good on my body anymore. I've thought about a gastric band for about 12 months and feel it may be the answer for me as 22 years of dieting has shown me I've not got control over food. I'm quite scared though - of the op and what life will be like afterwards. The main thing I'm looking at at the moment is clinics - I will be paying privately and looking round the Manchester/Cheshire area. Any feedback good and bad would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance from a nervous but fed up dieter!! Xxx

Hiya! I'm from Poynton so in your area. Just had a sleeve with Healthier Weight. They have a few different clinics around the area - I opted for the Manchester Spire in Whalley Range as a friend recommended it. I would recommend Healthier Weight - the team are fantastic and won't suggest anything that isn't suitable. They can also provide the pre and post op food if you want it.

Good luck on your weight loss journey :)

Hi there oh to be slinky. This is so weird I live in the same town as you - what a very very small world. Thank you for the recommendation I will look into them. Can I ask - did you know what procedure you wanted or did the consultant recommend? I didn't know too much about the sleeve & I was thinking of a band but I feel a little uneasy with stories I've seen of bands slipping.
Thanks x