• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Psychological help??

kellbells

Does anyone know how to get the psychological support after wls? I had my band on Saturday privately but feel as though I need additional support. I keep having moments of "have I made a mistake?" "is this what I really want?"
I know it's only 3 days post-op and I'm still in pain and very bloated which is not nice, but the thought of never being able to eat something I really want is worrying me. I enjoy food, albeit too much, I'm already missing the relationship I had with it.
Can you believe I'm a psychiatric nurse?! I can preach to people all day long, but when it comes to me I feel helpless. Stupid I know.

oh hun im still pre op but the only thing i can say is there is a reason why u did this, u need to try think about the reasons why u went ahead and think in a few weeks u will feel better and be able to start your new life. and instead of a relationship with bad food it will be a relationship with more healthy food and the biggest relationship will be with clothes :) smaller clothes that u can just grab instead of thinking hmmm this wont fit me.
well thats what i would think of anyway ;) but answer to your question is yes i think there is additional help out there 4 after op maybe go see your gp or phone the hospital where you had it done and ask them.
im sure someone who is post op will be more helpful but i hope iv helped a little. chin up :) and try stay possitive xxx

I think we've probably all gone through something similar immediately after the surgery but once you start to see the effects and the weight starts to come off you'll wonder why you ever had any doubts.