• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Question

Nat2104

Hi guys,

Im new to all this, completly fed up and tried everything, i recently started researching into wls and i have decided this is for me. Im going to my gp next week to see what he says but ive heard you cant get weight loss surgery via the nhs if you dont have amy health conditions such as diabetes etc, is this true?

I wasnt sure if it was the private clinic just saying that to get money out of me!

Any info would be helpful :)

Hi honey. No that's not true. But it's a complicated picture. All PCTs (Primary Care Trusts) have their own criteria for funding. They look at your BMI (body mass index) and other health issues, plus how many other ways of trying to lose weight you've tried, and for how long.
So it depends on how much you weigh, what else you've tried, what other conditions you have, and what your area will fund.
It's worth a try. You can always ring your local pct to find out what their criteria is.
I hope that helps.
Grace xxx

hi and welcome i have no health conditions and have been accept for my surgery but i think it depends on what the pct and nice recommendations are for your area i would go the drs and ask you've nothing to lose. I did first go to go private and they told me that i would have no chance of getting it donee on the nhs but i did so would defo give it a try x good luck

Last edited:
Hi Nat and welcome to the site, as the other's say it depends where you are and the criteria set by the PCT. SO you have nothing to lose (except weight!) by asking your GP first. Good luck with your quest

Hi Nat