• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Self funding

hmd12

Hi it would be great to hear from other self funders. I'm beginning my journey with my sister both of us having struggled with our weight for most of our lives, same old story losing 8-9 stone regaining it and losing at least 3 times. My sister had a lap band 4 years ago but had a lot of problems with it but I am a newbie to this. We are going over to Belgium to Dr Dillinger and although not confirmed yet surgery will be w/c 19th September

only came to a decision about this last week but it looks like we have the loan all sorted. Big commitment in these tough financial times I know but the way I have felt this week I know it's the right decision.

My weight has ruled my life for the last 30 years I'm 50 in a couple of weeks so this next decade I will be ruling my weight

Hi, I'm self funding too, feel unsure and guilty about spending so much money on myself, especially as there are lots of things that could spend the money on to benefit the whole family. However, also feel that this will be good for the whole family, to have a healthier, happier and more energetic wife/mother must be better for everyone.
Good luck with your whole experience, hope it all goes well x

Hi guys, I no exactly how you feel. I have had the surgery and still feel guilty about spending all that money on myself. I just keep reminding myself that the benefits for the family and myself far outweigh the financial strain. Of course if there wasn't such a thing a health postcode lottery then we wouldn't all be worrying like this.

Hi guys I'm self funding too - I don't feel guilty at all. I'm trying to justify the money but I don't feel guilty. I'm pretending I bought a new car! The price in Belgium is £3900 - not too bad and that includes 3 nights in a hotel for two people. Good luck with your journey.