• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Surgery in Belgium

bigpod

Hello everyone. I am new to wlsurgery. Trying to get as much information about gastric band surgery as I can. Thinking about going with professional beauty in Belgium. Has anyone had surgery abroad and how was it? Was told by the NHS I would have to wait 2 years and then they would only give me a bypass which I don't want and can't weight (get it) that long. Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi and welcome

Im a bander but I had mine here in the UK, I have no experience or knowledge of the company you are looking at but wish you all the best with your journey!

I've never heard of them, i hope someone will come along who can answer your question...

Just wondering, is it that your pct don't provide the gastric band or that they are recommending a bypass? I will say 2 years seems like a lifetime but in the big scheme of things it soon passes by xx

Hi, I'm off for a sleeve to the Czech Republic with Cosmetic Bliss in 2 weeks time.
All I'd recommend is do your research see what info you can find on the net, get your surgeons name and check he hasn't got any sanctions.
Sorry I didn't know more about them directly but hopefully someone else does.
Good luck with your journey

Andrea

I have no personal experience but as with all surgeries outside of the UK the key is the track record of the surgeon, and the level of aftercare that you will get. If anything goes wrong after you come home who will look after your case? you might find the NHS reluctant to help etc. Where will you get filled etc, I'm sure you've already looked at these issues and if you're happy with it then I'm sure it will be fine

There is a guy who comes to a local support group who had a band fitted in Belgium I seem to remember who has had a great deal of trouble with it, however I have no idea who the team were.

Good luck with your choice and your procedure