• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Time off work after a sleeve

curlystacey

I think I've seen a thread like this before but was wondering how long people had off work after a sleeve ?
I am a duty manager of co-op so my work is very physical pulling in delivery/putting out heavy stock ect I'm thinking 2 wks is this realistic ??? Xx

No I would say not and you certainly dont want to be doing any lifting for several weeks. You need to heal.
I had three weeks off work then I went back for three weeks on restricted duties, which was basically in the office.
Even as you feel better, you will be drained of energy due to the low calories, you will be healing inside and the main thing is you dont do yourself any injury.
Even if you go back after two weeks please dont do any lifting or pulling.

Thank you for your reply just wanted to give my boss a time scale think 2 wks is pushing it I soppose I will just have to play it day by day and see how I feel.
I've got to keep telling myself that u can't just go back to normal duties after a big op. And that he will have to get other people in to do deliverys.

I've booked a month off. My job is sitting and listening to other people and I need to be as recovered as possible to concentrate ;) The only other abdominal surgery I've had was c-sections and based on that you definitely do not want to be lifting heavy stuff for a while after surgery. You're healing inside and it takes a while, it's be terrible if you pulled something and hurt yourself. It sounds like you're used to just getting on with it but you're right, keep telling yourself you will need to take it slowly as you recover and don't let work push you into do anything before you're ready.

This is a big deal, life changing we are told so you deserve taking the time you need x