• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Time off from work for bypass people

LisaG

Disappearing slowly
Quick question for people that work and had the bypass....how long did you have off and is your job very physical? Just want to get a bit of an idea of how long I'm looking at.

I'm a nurse and at the time of my bypass I was working shifts on a very busy surgical ward. I had four weeks off then went back onto a run of 4 nights. I felt ready to go back to work but I was exhausted after those four shifts!

Hello

I had 4 weeks before returning to my office job - then did 1/2 days for the first week back.

I'm returning to work this Sunday after 4 weeks off work although I do have a very sedentary job, I'm sat on my arse all day.

Everyone is different according to what sort of job you have. I got my doctor to sign me off for 6 weeks cos I know when I go back it will be full on and I will need my strength.

It is just over three weeks since my surgery and whilst I felt on top of the world last week, this week I am totally wiped out and exhausted and there is no way I am ready to go back to work. I would suggest at least four weeks off but like everyone as said everyone is different.

Hi,

It depends if you're key hole or open for the bypass.

I had 2 weeks off work with a key hole bypass and no complications - I have a desk job. My friend had hers open and she was off work 8 weeks.

X

No 2 people are the same in recovery, so it is hard to say, I went back to work after 2 weeks, but I'm lucky as my job is very sedentary. if it was more physical, then I would have probably taken 4 weeks off. :)