• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Waiting for funding from Stoke pct

Pookie

Hi there everyone i'm a newbie. My first consultation with Dr Cheruvu was in March 09 go ahead given then had to see Proff Clayton and have blood and endocrine tests. Funding app went off in July and still not heard anything. Spoke to sectratary who informed me that Cheruvu has been off on annual leave all of July and August and she said it usually takes 2 months for funding decisions. Please can someone let me know how they went on and whether a funding decision still might mean more months of waiting?

Hi Pookie

I was under the impression that Stoke PCT are automatic funders, as long as you meet their criteria, which I believe to be BMI over 40. However, North Staffs hasn't been doing the surgery for that long (although Mr Cheruvu works at the BUPA Clayton so does this operation routinely) so it may be that they don't really know what they're doing in terms of what needs doing for funding etc!! It is probably worth calling Stoke PCT commissioning team and asking them if they have received a funding application for you and at the same time ask them what their criteria for funding is.

Is there any reason you aren't going to Walsall Manor for the op? Just curious, as I know that Stoke people can go to either.

I will be setting up a local group meeting shortly, it takes place at the BUPA Clayton, so look out for a notification when I have sorted it out!!!

Not sure how it works now but I had automatic funding throught Stoke PCT but think its changed since they started to do the ops at the north staffs

Thanks guys

I was under the impression that funding was good in Stoke and no one who ive seen has said that they may decline me. I certainly meet the criteria so i guess i just wait for the magic letter xx;):):p