• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Weight is just getting depressing.

COADF2011

Hi, I'm new here so :wavey:

Weight: 18st (nearly)
Height: 6ft2"
BMI - 30.5-31

The reason I've joined is because I've gotten to a point now where I just can't stand looking at my body anymore, and I know other people think I look pretty gross aswell. Over the last twelve months or so I've put on a considerable amount of weight and as time has gone by I've started to feel truly disgusted with my appearance. Twelve months ago I wore 34" jeans and could manage a 32", and now I'm on 38" in all new pairs and 40" in my work pants ( I'm a student nurse ). I've tried dieting ( VLCD = Exante, Xenical, general healthy eating ) and have found that this combined with uni stress hasn't gone well and I've ended up lapsing before I know it.

I've been looking at weight loss surgery for quite a while now but on my income as a student it looks near to be impossible. My local PCT is NICE guidelines only, and I know people who have been rejected who are wearing size 30+ (women) so I have no chance of getting something from my PCT.

Could anyone help me with this? Where to look, funding, abroad? etc.

I know it sounds drastic but weighing a stone for every year you are in age is pretty depressing.

Welcome to the forum! Sorry, I cant help but just wanted to wish you good luck on your journey. Someone will be along with some advice soon I'm sure x

Hello bud, I know how you feel, I have been large all my life, but you have made the best move so far, by coming on here.

Have you spoke to your doctor about WLS. Generally you will need to have diabetes or sleep apnea as well as a high BMI to qualify for WLS on the NHS.

Where are you from, and maybe people local to you can help you on that front.

Hi Welcome to the forum -you will find loads of support here - the people r gr8.