• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

What To Expect/How long a wait until surgery ?

Need2Slim

Hi all, a newbie here.
A bit/ (a lot) about me and some questions I have.
Ive been overweight/obese since I was 8, with every year I got older, so did my weight. I've been back and to, to the GP for weight loss help for years. I joined WW when I was 13. They thought I was cheating as I never lost any weight, I really wasn't, did they really think I wanted to be verbally abused everyday at school? I wanted to lose weight, I just couldn't. I've tried all sorts since then, SW, Orlistat (fat burning pills). Going to the gym. The only time I lost any weight was when I had gallstones, where I couldn't even eat a single segment of chocolate orange without severe pain and vomiting for hours. I went down to 16st! The only good thing about having gallstones. I had my gall bladder removed in 2007 and met my partner 2 weeks later. My weight then soared.
I went back to GP for help again, they dismissed me and said 'well weight loss is hardly rocket science I should know what to eat!' The cheek! I subsequently changed GP surgeries and after a few months with them I finally plucked up the courage (I was too scared to go in case they also refused to help) to ask them for help/referral to the Bariatric Unit at Shrewsbury Shropshire, she said YES! And I was referred.