• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

ADVICE NEEDED PLEASE XXX

LydiaJoy!

Hey Guys!
I'm new to this site but really need some advice.

As most of you on this site understand, the fight to get fit and lose weight is near impossible without surgery...or so it seems.

I'm in the UK and I'm only 17 years old! I'm in my second year at college, going to University in September (fingers crossed!)

Two years ago, my mum had a BMI of near 50 and before the NHS cuts, she was offered a gastric band which she accepted.

Over two and a half years, my mum lost 12 stone through the band and exercise. Shes done extremely well and its been amazing to watch her confidence grow and her self belief rise. About two years in to the whole process, her band was too tight and she started to develop acid etc. Her band had to be totally relaxed. Then a few weeks ago, I was at the hospital with her because she could FINALLY get her band filled again! :):):)!!!

I said I really wanted a band because I've struggled since I was really little with my weight and that I know no matter what, I will always struggle with my weight. I thought, wow... that would really set me up with life. I wouldn't have to worry about going out with my friends or even panic when I'm in public. I'd be able to shop where I wanted and well you know all of the health reasons!

I was absolutely gobsmacked when my parents said they could come up with the money for weight loss surgery for me. (A gastric band.)

My BMI is 48 :( and I'm inbetween sizes of 22/24/26 at the height of 5'8. I'm 100% on board with this op and I'm totally ready for the huge change. I just really want peoples opinions!

Hope you're all doing well & thank you!

Lydia-Joy xx

well I am 67 and struggled with weight all my life. I am having a gastric wrap in Prague in February. You must do what you want to make your life as full as possible, especially as you are so young.