• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Getting banded this week...

Bella'sBand

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and I am currently on my pre op diet, protien, fruit, veg, clear soup and water. Has anyone else been on this pre op diet? If so how did you get on with it? And can they test to see if your liver has shrunk before opertating or do they only know if it has shrunk once surgery starts?
I am a bit worried about gas after the op, if you do get it is there a general time period till it passes? Two days, 4 days?
Thank you :eek:
Bella'sband.

Hiya and Welcome to the forum. I've not had the band but lots have so I'm sure people will be along to answer your questions soon. I can tell you from my experience that my bad wind pain lasted a couple of days and then I had it mild for a few days after that. The best way to get rid of it is to get up as soon as you can and walk around. It soon shifts then, also I found peppermint tea help sooth it a lot. So get some in at home in preparation. I drank that every day for the first week and it helped settle things. As for the pre op diet, I've never heard of a test to see if your liver has shrunk before surgery but as long as you stick to the diet 100% it's very likely to have worked. Most people worry though, it's natural.

I wish you all the best with your op and recovery, it will be over before you know it :) x

Aw Thanks Shelly, that is good to know. I will be getting the peppermint tea in thats for sure! You have done so well, congratulations! This is a great site, I am so glad I found it before my surgery, everyone is so friendly and supportive. I suppose that is because we are all in the same boat and know how each other are feeling.

Thanks,
Bella'sband.

Hi
Good luck for this week xxx