• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hello!! Newbie here with questions!!

eglantine

Hello.
My name is Gerry and I am about to get a gastric band at Dolan Park this coming Friday (2nd Nov).
I have mixed feelings: nervous and excited at the same time! And also thinking "my God, what have I done!!!!"
I know I need to get banded, having yo-yoed with my weight all my adult life.
I have two young kids and find it hard keeping up with them. I am so out of breath it's scary...
My question is as follow: will I be able to take medicine tablets with the band?
I suffer badly from hay fever and have to take medication for it. The tablets are film coated so cannot be crushed or cut. They are the size of a small baked bean, a bit narrower. Might it become stuck in the stoma? What can I do about that?
My second question is regarding pain following surgery on Friday. What should I take? And how to take it? Crushed paracetamol tablets?
My last question is regarding drinking. Will I have to drink very small sips very slowly always, or can I drink normally. I usually drink quite quickly. Is that a big no-no?
Sorry to be asking all these questions.
Many thanks for your help.
Gerry xxx

Welcome Gerry and good Luck for 2nd you will find in the forum that the feelings you are having are quite normal. xx

Hello.
My name is Gerry and I am about to get a gastric band at Dolan Park this coming Friday (2nd Nov).
I have mixed feelings: nervous and excited at the same time! And also thinking "my God, what have I done!!!!"
I have two young kids and find it hard keeping up with them. I am so out of breath it's scary...
My question is as follow: will I be able to take medicine tablets with the band?