• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hi Everyone!

Snow White

Hello, I am not a patient yet. My GP has only just referred me. So, I think I am in for a long (Bexley Pct). I want a bypass but am having some real mixed emotions. I am a nurse in a new job and am experiencing a lot of problems about my weight. Someone actually decided to be "honest" and tell me I was the equivalent of a smoking cessation counsellor who stinks of fags.
I know I'm big, but have never been judged like this before. I have mixed emotions even about the surgery. Am I bowing to pressure from a society that would find me more "acceptable"? I want it for myself, at least I think? I have family and friends who say do it! Then my bff telling me I am doing it for the wrong reasons and may die trying to get thin because I am giving in to those who can't accept me as I am. But, who I am is miserable and in pain. I can't get down on the floor and play with my children. I can't buy clothes, my knees are going. What do I do? Sorry for venting first time around. I feel so lost...

Mel

Hi! Aren't people just down right cruel sometimes! I'm sure that honest person is entirely perfect! ;-)
I think what you are thinking is normal and what most of us have experienced! Like you I struggled to come to terms with thinking about this surgery, after all I was happy enough as I was. However you have already pin pointed ways that your weight is impacting on your life. And perhaps its just a case of writing a list of the pros and cons of having the op and not! It's not easy and personally I'm only three weeks post op but thus far don't regret it!
I wish you luck and have said.it before this site is amazing everyone is soo helpful!!! X x

Hi Mel and welcome.

I think from what others in your area have said that you are right when you say you could be in for a long wait.