• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

hi im new how pain full is gastric bypass

sewingbelle56

i am new to all this blogging and such ,
i am hoping to have a gastric bypass with dr ammori in manchester in july /aug 09 dependant on how fast my remorgage comes through .
can i ask what sort of recoverry period have different people had as i work for my self and its a concern.
ive had my appendix out a few years ago and it didnt bother me at all and womens gyny things just slowed me for a day were they said take it easy for a week.
also told i might need a hysterectomy any thoughts on postponing it for a year till ive lost weight or get all done within a few months of each other

hi i really did have much pain after my bypass more uncomfortable than anything but everyone is diffrent,i was up and almost back to normal in 2 weeks x x x good luck WELCOME TO MINIS

thanks for info on pain

i am sat here close to tears i just hope i look as good and happy as you do a year from now . people know i have put on weight its hard to miss but only a few know how unhappy and scared of having a heart attack and dying like my dad did. i feel like i have a bomb inside of me.

i felt the same way evert time i had to run after the kids i thought i would die as i could not breath,my bypass was the start of a whole new life for me and my family, and it will be for you to .nobody under stands how unhappy and scared you feel when your so over weight unless you have been there thats why minis is great everyone understands and wants to help GOODLUCK I HOPE IT HAPPENS SOON FOR YOU X X X

Hi there, welcome to minis, it really is the place to find out anything and get advice and support! I didnt suffer much pain after my bypass, mainly wind pain as if you have laparascopic they fill u up with it! But I would agree with Sarah and say 2 weeks recovery, dependant on what you do.
Good luck with it all and keep posting xxxxx