• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

How does the process work from referal to op...

FEDup1981

I WILL look like this!!
Hi all

Im very new to all this, and at the moment im on WL tablets. Should be refered for WLS assessment in the new year. Ive read many posts on here, and didnt realise how long and drawn out the process is. Can someone please explain the process from referal to surgeon to getting the Op, including funding etc...

Is it that if the surgeon thinks im suitable, i then have to apply to the PCT for funding, how long does this take and do many people get turned down? What are the reasons for being turned down?

Thank u xxx

Hi the main reason people get turned down is if they dont meet the criteria. I dont know of any other reason providing they are fit enough for surgery. Everyones process seems to be slightly different some start the process having funding in place. I think its strange to think if you have not seen the consultant or surgeon how can funding be agreed and surely it would be better to see them find out if your suitable and then your GP apply for the funding. like I say its all different. Is there anyone on here that has had the surgery and under the same PCT as you as that would be the best way forward. Some get through the system in a short time, others take much longer I think it depends how much you push, nag and refuse to give up....hope this helps..xx

for me the prosess was saw gp in oct last year funding was approved first then i was seen by surgeon in march i had preop in august then was banded in sept so all in all took nearly a year but i think every area is different i wasnt alloed to see bariatric team untill i was funded

Hi Serenity how come it took so long? Was it your initial appointment or did it all take so long? Its so annoying knowing you have funding and then having to wait xx