• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

I'm back

LBD

Hi everyone

Not sure if anyone remembers me but I was a frequent visitor back in the summer. I haven't been around for a while because basically I have been really down and just couldn't face it.

After approaching my GP about WLS he was fantastic and really supportive. He and I were hopeful that I would get funding. Having carried out a lot of research it appeared that I would be eligible.

Although my GP made a referral he received the criteria back from the trust and it seems the criteria was completely different to what we were both expecting. Unfortunately I am not eligible after all.

Despite being mordibly obese and suffering from associated medical conditions neither are bad enough to warrant surgery and so it was pointless taking the matter any further.

It was a real blow to me as I had been considering WLS for several years and it took me a lot of courage to finally speak to my GP about it.

I am now at rock bottom. My weight is increasing all the time and I just don't seem to be able get a grip. I know I am lighter than many people who do have WLS but I know if I do not do something now my future health is really going to suffer.

Despite being so low and depressed about my weight I still don't seem able to address it by sticking to a diet.

I guess my only option is to pay privately and this is something that I am now thinking about. What I am struggling with is that I feel selfish spending that amount of money on just me when I have a family who could enjoy a fantastic holiday with that sort of money!

I've had a quick look around and it seems so many of you are doing brilliantly. It has really made me smile to see so many happy people. You should be so proud of yourselves.

I just hope that I can find some motivation to sort myself out.