• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie from London at the very beginning

nafpnd

Hi all,

I came across this forum after doing a search on bariatric surgery on google and immediately started reading the posts and thought it's a really useful forum and decided to join. I think offloading might help me so bear with me.

In a nutshell, I was a 'fat' kid, was 'normal' through my late teenage years and early 20s and overweight from late 20s till now, early 40s, weight has yoyo'd over the years.

What really freaked me out was 2 things, first noticing that from about 4 years ago, none of my usual diet and exercise routines were helping me loose weight at all, I would loose maybe a kilo or 2 and stall for months and then try something else with the same result and second, I realised that I had high blood pressure. I had been discussing my weight with my nurse for the last 2 yrs whilst noticing that my blood pressure which had always been on the high side was getting higher. It's only when I entered my blood pressure figures on google that I realised I officially had hypertention and the nurse had not even mentioned that to me! My husband said to check the nhs site about the surgery as he had heard somewhere that hypertention in obese people qualified them for the surgery.

I referred myself to my GP who has since referred me to psychological therapies (IAPT) because my main problem is simply that I often binge and eat whether hungry or not, I imagine I am like an addict and I don't even know why I do it. So even though I have requested surgery, I am scared that with a restricted tummy, i will hurt myself when I get the urge to eat.

I received my choose and book letter for the whittington today but there were no appointments available! I will keep trying until Monday and call them if the situation has not changed.