• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

NHS Gastric Band PLEASE help me someone?

Kimberleyx

Hi guys im new to this and i dont know who else to talk to but im 19 years old and im serious about gastric band surgery i just weighed myself and im 16 stones and 7 pounds and ive had enough ive been dieting for 3 months & excersising and ive lost hardly anything about a pound!, all my friends are slim and just laugh at me when i try talk about it and im scared of going to talk to my gp incase she says im being rediculous and i cant have it but ive never wanted anything more in my whole entire life!
ive had a very troubled upbringing, my father was a paedophile and used to beat my mum but they had a divorce and the weight piled on from there and i had to leave school and go to a pupil referral unit and ive got great grades but im just deeply unhappy and i have dreams of being a holiday rep abroad but i dont want to go for it when i feel this fat and unhealthy can anyone please help me and let me know what i need to do to get my gp to help me? please share your stories of nhs gastric bands id love to know! thanks so much guys

kim xx

Hi kim im a bypasser but couldnt read and run. welcome to minis im sure some of the banders will be along soon to share their experiances.
Your starting point has to be your GP to refere you and get the funding but i personally think that by talking to him about how you feel in general and how your life experiances are effecting you may find that he is very understanding and helpful im more ways than you realise.
good luck on your journey and i hope you get to do your dream job .
take care hc