• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

booked for gastric band

jlb5686

hiya. im very new to this. im 28 a mum of 3 ans have a bmi of 42. today ive booked in for a consaltation with the hospital group for a gastric band. consaltation is nxt week. im excited but nervous. I realy feel a gastric band may be my only hope. any advice would be great or tips post band. thankyou

Welcome to the group :)

I love my band - feeling in control of my weight for the first time in about 15 years... It sounds cheesy but it really is a tool and not a cure - the foods that go down really easily are things like biscuits , chocolate , ice cream ! I personally have had 2 bad experiences with rice so it's now a no no and typically I'm now craving some ! Tiny amounts of bread I can tolerate if I really chew but could never eat tiger bread now and I miss it!!!

Good luck xxx

thanx for the reply.my biggest worry is that I will still be able to eat the volume of food I do now? I realy want it to help portion size.foesbit? x

If portion size of food is your problem the band is for you! It reduces it massively, but like nikola has said if you are a grazer who eats chocolate ice cream etc,,, the band isn't for you,

I love food full stop , still do. But the band makes food my fuel not my friend. It takes a hard look at yourself to get thru the grieving process we all go thru with food when we get our bands all of us felt the same and if your ready for change then go for it :) you won't look back if you really really want it to work ...

Good luck sweets xx

thanx guy. I guess im a grazer and have massive portions. I never feel hungry or full. qbut im comitted to the change. and seen as my parents will be paying its even more motivation. I just know im doing so much damahe to myself atm. if it reduces the amount I can physicaly eat I will be so happy. but any advice pos or negative I would realy apreciate. x