• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Please help. Advice on how to get the Lap band.

Akra

Hello all, I'm new to the forum after lurking for a while. I've come to see that my problems are the same as all of you wonderful people. I'm singing the same tune as everyone here, I think.
But as a newbie, I need your help.
I'm 21, female, my BMI is about 37 (about 260lb) I don't drink, smoke or take drugs, I've been overweight and unhappy all my life. I've tried every pill, potion, miracle cure under the sun. I went through a period last year where I didn't eat more than 400cals a day for over 6months last year. I hated it and myself at the time and even though I lost alot of weight, I risked my health and I didn't care because it was working.
But now I've put the weight back on and I know it's affecting my health. I have hypertention (high blood pressure), my breathing is sometimes restricted and I feel generally unhealthy.
I am desperatly unhappy and i lack motivation. I'm not looking for a quick fix or a miracle, i need something that would force me to change by necessity and from what I know, this is what woud work.

Does anyone know of where/how I can get financing to get the gastric band fitted? This may come across as slightly desperate and maybe it is.
I'm fresh out of uni, can only get part-time hours simply because my firm has no more to give, I have no assets like a house as collateral and as such my bank can't give me a loan.
I'm at the end of my tether.
I have been diagnosed with depression and the kicker of it all is that my kneejoints are out of alignment so I physically cannot exercise properly. I'm by no means disabled, but strain on my knees is painful and ineffective anyway.
I can maintain a weight, but nothing I do seems to reduce it.
This is something I've wanted for a long, long time, but I don't know how to go about doing it. Or even if I can.