• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

RNY and how long did you have off from work?

I will be 8 weeks post op on Sunday, and my sicknote will run out on Tuesday. I am tired all the time and have no energy, not sure if I should go back to work, as I work in a school or have more time off. I am getting texts from work colleagues and am beginning to feel guilty but I am scared of feeling ill at work.

I just wondered how long other RNY post oppers have had off work?

Cheers

Am pre op Vicky but good luck with your recovery I am sure there will be someone along soon who can help Love Jay xx

I'm 5 weeks post-op today and my GP has signed me off until next Monday. I tend to run out of steam in the afternoon.

I could do with going back as I am now in a no pay situation, but my GP is hesitant. It is a major procedure we have had and as he says, the problem with going back to work while still healing, everyone will forget and assume business as normal.

My employer (NHS) has agreed to a staged return (i.e return at reduced hours) over a few weeks, pending sign-off by my GP.

Is this possible with your employer?

Hi Vicky - you need to make sure you feel healed outside really - what age group are you working with - little children are sounpredictable with their movements!!! Also You'll feel tired when you go back anyway. I've been told 6 weeks. I am pre-op. I know how you feel about time off though - it is very difficult. Let me know how you get on. xx

I'm 5 weeks post-op today and my GP has signed me off until next Monday. I tend to run out of steam in the afternoon.

I could do with going back as I am now in a no pay situation, but my GP is hesitant. It is a major procedure we have had and as he says, the problem with going back to work while still healing, everyone will forget and assume business as normal.