• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Salt?

Jamast

Okay, not sure if this is in the right place, but I have a question about this 'milk diet'.

I notice that those on it all seem to mention having a 'stock cube' included in their diet for salt. What happens if you can't possibly stomach that sort of thing?

The smell of stock cubes/boullion cubes actually makes me vomit - will this be a major problem?

Last edited:
My surgeon never even mentioned the oxo drink I just have some because others mentioned they could ... And I love gravy lol so I'm thinking not - but I'm not a doctor :) hope this helped xx

Its worth just discussing it with your dietitcian if you need to do it before your op. Bovril is an acceptable alternative if that's any better for you?

My surgeon never even mentioned the oxo drink I just have some because others mentioned they could ... And I love gravy lol so I'm thinking not - but I'm not a doctor :) hope this helped xx

But gravy doesn't smell or taste anything like stock drinks. I hope whomever I get for a surgeon doesn't mention it too lol

Its worth just discussing it with your dietitcian if you need to do it before your op. Bovril is an acceptable alternative if that's any better for you?

OOOOEEERRR - NOOOOOOOO
Bovril, marmite, vegemite etc - all as bad, if not worse. Just the thought of any of these is actually turning my stomach at the moment.

I can't stand bovril etc myself. I was iffy about the stock cubes but have found two I like, particularly with milk.

I just lick some marmite off a spoon...

I can't stand bovril etc myself. I was iffy about the stock cubes but have found two I like, particularly with milk.

It's the smell and years of having to drink the stuff as a child. I don't even want to imagine it with milk lol :D

To be fair I'm a gravy holic I laavv it lol! The beef oxo isn't that bad nor the chicken oxo x