• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Surgery sites post-op (bit graphic for the squeamish!))

Mio

After I had my banding on Tuesday they said to remove the dressings from the incision sites 5 days post-op, which was yesterday. I'd had a bit of weeping coming through the dressing pad but my mum said that was ok.

Anyways, asked my mum to help me take off the dressings today, and when we did the wound was still open and quite raw. It started bleeding/weeping and, quite frankly, I almost passed out *lol* (I'm not very good with things like this!)

I'm going to go to the NHS drop-in centre tomorrow but just wondered how other people found the incision site healing process?

Your doing the right thing getting it checked out, you might just need some steri strips on it but it needs checking out x

Thanks - it's the first time I've ever had any kind of op so I have no idea what to expect or what's going on! I'm sure it's nothing terrible but I'm ridiculously squeamish :faint2:

My poor mum though - she's put up with a lot this week :D

Well, I'm back from the NHS walk-in clinic, and I have to say that if anyone gets weeeping incision sites days after the op, go to the doctor!

I now have infection in all five of my incision sites (as well as an ear infection!) and am on antibiotics but waiting to hear back from the hospital as they may want me back in to do a deep clean of the infected wounds under general anesthetic :-/ Obviously, wound infections can be really serious so I'm trying not to panic too much atm but I'm obviously worried. Nothing I can do until I hear back from the surgical team though!