• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Walsall Manor Hospital-feedback required!

BigBoy1

Hello all! :flirt2:

Im new to all of this but amazed by the level of information and help this website offers - very impressive. if I was a secret millionaire I would definitely give this support group some money!!!

(Im not a secret millionaire but you can still be nice to me :D)

Basically I have my second appointment at Walsall Hospital early November having had one appointment already where I talked through my history with Dr Kahn, the options available etc and also was weighed and measured. During this appointment I was told by Dr Kahn he would apply for funding straight away as my BMI was 45, I have type 2 diabetes have tried diets, seen my dietician at my GP's, and also have a chronic skin disorder affected by being obese.

Having read the various posts and information available I would be grateful for any feedback people have specifically about Walsall and the process involved/timescales etc. From what I can see it seems to around 5-6 months from first appointment. I also thought that the "tickertake" thingy you guys loves so much would be very useful if it showed the timescales you all went through or something to visualise it for noobs like me!

Any input appreciated :jelous:

Hi Bigboy welcome to Minis

I had my op at Walsall and from seeing my Dr to having my op was 16 weeks. Had my op (open bypass) on a friday and was allowed home on the Monday evening. I was allowed free fluids on the Saturday and was on a liquid diet for 4 weeks back on normal food at 7 weeks

That sounds good Tina and thanks for the prompt reply...I see youve lost 7 stone as well, thats excellent.

So what do you think are the 2-3 worst things about the op?
And to balance that what 2-3 things were a nice suprise about it?