• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Back pain after weight loss.

fjsinc

I've been suffering from the most awful back pain since I reached about 5 stone loss. Its mostly while I'm at work, and its central mid back. I'm convinced its posture related, but I'm at a loss about what to do about. I exercise regularly, and it doesn't seem to help (or hinder thankfully). Anyone had similar? Any tips on how to elevate pain/correct posture? What do you think, worth me forking out to go and see a chiropractor?

I am no medical expert in any way, shape or form so just musings.

Might some of it be dietary/vitamin related? My dietician has told me I need to keep my protein, vitamins and exercises up to prevent muscle weakness. She was primarily talking about arms and thighs but I wonder if it can affect other parts of the body x

Thank Lincs. I think its possible, but relatively unlikely. I am very exact in my intake of proteins and supplements. I'm a nurse, and paranoid about keeping them at optimum levels. I have no symptoms of deficiency, so for me the most simple explanation is postural. I have lost the majority of my weight from my tummy, so my centre is quite different (I keep trying to fall over, haha). Last night at work I sort of had to push one of my discs into line - ouch.

I've read a lot about our bodies being misaligned due to carrying a lot of weight. A physio can help. NHS will refer x

I am a bander but I noticed this. Luckily I work within an MSk clinic so saw one of the physios for some stretches and it really helped. I would say yes to seeing a chiropractor or physio x