• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Depression................

Hollyhunny

5 years of waiting
:sigh: need to know about it,
who of you have it
how have you dealt/are dealing with it

how can you get across what your problems are to your GP in a 10 minute slot

as a pre-op gastric bypass wanna-be
how does this affect my surgery and recovery?

thanks gurls and guys

I have suffered with depression for many years, I have been on many meds in the past but Im currently on Effexor. I find them really good. Its a horrible illness, theres no two ways about that, but with meds it is manageable. I am post op bypass and they knew I suffered with it and I saw the psychologist etc and was still passed for surgery, so it shouldnt hinder you :D X

Im new to depression/stress and saw my GP on Wednesday. He has prescribed Citalopram and I havent been to work since Tuesday.

Its not the first time Ive been down, but its the first time Ive been down for so long and unable to snap out of it. For me I think its a culmination of a stressful year and a stressful job. However the GP said it doesn't always need a trigger.

As for what to say to the GP, I really didn't know where to start, and not sure I made any sense. Just poured out whatever was in my head!

He said it could be several weeks before the tablets have any effect. Just hope they start working soon.

It shouldnt affect your surgery, but you may have to see a psyche as part of your pre op procedures.

Hi Sam, I am on the same medication as you and it does work if you give it time.

Hollyhunny - Just tell the doctors exactly how you feel, most of them are brilliant and understand.

Good luck hun. xxx

thanks girls

thank you for the hearfelt replies

it makes me feel somewhat better knowing that Im not alone in the way I am feeling

I went today

the GP said they dont prescribe medication on the first visit so I have to come back Friday?

strange ...