• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Driving is driving me crazy!

TR_Wolf

(just call me Adam)
I started learning to drive in November. :character00182: Once a week with a fantastic guy called Mike who has since become an acquaintance verging on friend.

The only thing is that despite Mike's superb tuition, I really find learning in a manual quite stressful! :shifter: Not just gear changes, and making sure you change to the right gears, but all of the nonsense with the clutch, using it to change gears, slow down, move off, get the biting point, etc etc.

Even when I pass my test, I plan to get an automatic car, because they just seem to make more sense, and over in the USA they seem to cope well with them!

The only thing is, although there's the advantage of being able to drive both auto and manual if you learn in a manual... I'm pondering thanking Mike for his time, and moving on to perhaps find an instructor who will teach me to drive in an automatic, and thus pass in an automatic. Would be mean to Mike though, he seems so optimistic for me, and has given me his time and effort.

I'm really not sure what to do. I think an automatic would be simpler for me, and cost less to learn to a driving test standard as it'd take less time because of the simplicity.

What are your thoughts on this? Are any of you Automatic drivers? Maybe manual to automatic converts? :7600:

Getting a little stressed about it actually! Any thoughts or advice are welcome!

yes i have advice for you....stay manual! lol

My OH and I learned to drive in the same 6 months....he learned first and was adamant he wanted to drive autos forever...so why not have an auto license he argued!

i said, look, take a manual license and choose to drive auto forever and ever if thats what you want but no...he didnt...