• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Gastric Band on NHS

mintball

Hi, I'm new to this. I have a BMI of 37.5 and live in Preston. My doctor has just written a letter to an obesity clinic in Chorley where apparantly you go to be assesed for referral for gastric band. I have looked at the NICE guidelines and i worry that the only medical problems I have are feeling very down and exhaustion and I worry this won't be enough.

Through my G.P. I have previously had rimonoband (Accomplia), Reductil, Orlistat (Urgh), Hypnotherapy and accupuncture. On my own I've done back Street Doctor tablets (tenuate Dospan), every weight loss club going, slim patches, hoodia and the rest!!!

Does anyone have any advice?

Many thanks
Lisa

if you dont fit into the nice guildlines you may have to fight for funding is your bmi enough with medical reasons? sorry not being much help but good luck

i think its 35-40 with medical reasons or over 40 without....i think

Mintball, I hope you get the answer you want.
I know exactly how you feel as I dont have high blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes etc. I only have the exhaustion, feeling down low confidence to attribute to my reasoning for WLS. I also have a mother who does have diabetes, high cholesterol, so maybe that is worth looking into, as I'm sure (but ill stand corrected) that they do consider your family medical history.
I'm no expert nor have i gone through the process, I'm on the referral stage also. But I'm sure someone will be along that can give you a bit more insight.

Good luck in your journey:)

I'd never thought of the family history side of it. My mum and aunt have mega high blood pressure, my grandad was diabetic and my nan died of a stroke at 36! I suppose its worth writing all this down to take along. If nothing else, it shows I'm serious.

Thanks for that

Lisa x x x

i think its 35-40 with medical reasons or over 40 without....i think