• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Just got referal to gastric band

bumnelly

Hi i'm new to this but i have just read some of the forums and thought you'd be of some help.
I've just asked my doctor today if i can be refered to get a gastric band and he is sending a letter of.
I'm 31 yrs old and got a bmi of 37, i have read up on this alot and know that you have to have some medical reason when your bmi is low like mine, so i woundered if i could explane whats my reasons for this and see what you all think.
I've been getting weighed by my doctor now for 3 to 4 years, i've been on Xenical and Raducil for about as long, none of them have worked and i seem to be putting weight on more and more.
I have recently had surgery on my legs through shin splint, but my weight isn't helping this as it's putting more pressure on my tibia bones, i can't sleep through the night and haven't for many years, i wake up every couple of hours, and i can't sleep on my side with my knees touching cause of the pain i get in them.
I work as a picker which cosists of walking around a warehouse for 5 - 7 hours a day and going up and down stairs, so i am really active and everyone at work tells me to slow down and i get to the gym nearlly every day.
I have medical problems in my family as well, my dad has diabetes and has had angina, as well as all his siblins and there's 11 of them, my nan also had these.
I have been on depresion tables about my weight and am still on them and i start to panic when i go out because i think everyones talking about my size.
It's now effecting my marrige, i don't want sex because i think how can my hubby want to come near me looking like this.
Sorry to go on but does anyone know if i'd have a chance.
Thanks for reading and hope i havent board you to much x