• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Lessons Learned

Corey

longs to be average!
Was thinking this morning what lessons I have learned since having the surgery. Then started wondering what lessons you guys have learned and that it might be a good idea to share, so others (who are both pre and post op) might be able to pick up a few hints and tips from our experiences?

So, for me, it's portion sizes, and I am still learning.......... I have always had big meals, and always ate what was placed in front of me, OR what I served myself. It's been difficult putting smaller portions on my plate and to leave food on my plate when I am full. Still, I am slowly learning that lesson, the indigestion is a killer!!

My second lesson - is to chew, chew and chew before swallowing. Pre-op, I would chew perhaps once or twice and then gulp down my food - if I do it now, I vomit. This was an increibly quick lesson to learn, happened twice and I have no intention of it happening thrice!

I have learned not to have too much cheese cos it give me really foul smelling wind and BM.
There's a nice thought for a bank holiday monday...lol!!

Hi Corey

With you on the portion sizes and learning that its ok to leave something on your plate. You really dont have to polish it all off, lol

Great thread. Portion sizes, learning to recognise the signs of being full. Leaving a long enough time lapse before consuming something else either food or drink.

I'm working on that one at the moment - it would be a lot easier if I didn't have food in the cupboards!

Are you still on sloppies Corey, I have moved onto introducing real food again. Hard work, so tempted to just blend everything! :D

great thread for us pre oppers, thanks. Keep posting those lessons learnt for us!

I am supposed to still be on sloppies - but tend to have stuff with some kind of sauce or gravy.