• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie here, please help....

helen144

Im new here, I am wanting weight loss surgery but havnt decided which one to have yet, i also have not got the money to pay for it, I weigh 19 1/2 stone (I lost 3 stone) at weight watchers 18 months ago but have put some of that back on, I asked my GP whether i could have surgery on the NHS and she said no I have rang PALS and they sadi to go back and ask them to write to the PCT for funding.
Can anyone give me any advice about the best way forward and what will help and also how long this process will take.

Thankyou

Try another GP at your surgery...do you have any comorbities?

My advice is to keep pushing and don't give up if that is what you want.

hi helen if u have a bmi of 40 plus then u qualify for a referal, see another gp in your practice thats what i had 2 do 4 my referal

I was seen by a psychiatrist prior to surgery and they put me forward for further counselling for similar issues plus grief and CBT.

It nearly stopped the surgery going ahead as scheduled but the rest of the team thought it wise to continue.

So I will be seeing a head quack soon....

The painful joints will help your case.

Hey hun I too am seeing my dr next week I would defo go back to your drs and aske again and if he says no go to another keep trying and fight as hard as you can.

I too have depresion and at the moment im 21st iv tryed everything under the sun and it hasent worked to thats why im going to bypass. you seeing a Pyschologist will defo help everything does if you tell him how much this is geting you down hun.

Good luck with it and manchester are one of the best places to get it paid for so iv hurd thats what im hoping for anyway living here lol.

Hi helen and everhopeful what area of Manchester are you from. Im only up the road in Bolton. Good luck on yr journey look forward to following it.
HC