• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

andrea464

I'm Andrea, and I'm new. :) I'm married with one child (7 1/2 years old).
I've been overweight or obese as long as I can remember. I've always justified things externally but internally I'm miserable. I've gone back and forth with diets, always failing. I've lost a decent amount of weight several times before but always gained it back.
I had always said I'd never do WLS. I'm a registered nurse and saw a lot of people with post-op complications. But now I'm facing the complications from my own body and the effects of the obesity and it's taking its toll. I've seen several coworkers who have had great success with the surgery, although some had some complications (all had RNY). Another issue against WLS for me was the RNY portion- I'm nervous about moving intestines around. :)

Then I found out about the gastric sleeve and I know I have another option. I'm still honestly torn about which option I want to pursue.

I'm going to the insurance mandated education session next week. This is the furthest I've gotten in planning for this sort of surgery. I'm nervous but I think more than anything I'm excited about a new beginning and the potential to be healthy again! I have an autoimmune disease (rheumatoid arthritis), and I want the weight to come off so I don't have the added stress. I don't want to be known as the "fat mommy" anymore- I want to keep up with DD!

Hiya! Good luck with it all. I'm assuming you're American, how does the cost of surgery compare with the Uk?

Wishing you all the best with your journey.

Hi Andrea, and welcome. Good luck with everything, hope you will make the right decision for you and everything will go well. Personally I had the bypass and I don't regret one thing, but of course it's a personal choice. Good luck with whatever you decide. X