• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Refused funding from Trafford pct

Carrine

Hi all i'm new to this.
I was referred by my gp for G band with Trafford pct
I was point blank refused and i have bmi of 44 and i have weight related illness and high risk of diabetes and i have an underactive thyroid which is currently at the right level from medication.

There reason for refusal was bmi wasn't 50 and i haven't done the 'new' weight management programme!

What are my next steps i'm at my witts end with my weight problem

Are there any other routes i can take to avoid the year long weight programme?

carrine xx

I would get on the weight management programme first and take it from there,no matter what weight you are you have to do them before they will reconsider.

Thank you big an bouncy, i was referred to the wm over a yr ago but i was in Uni and on exams so it was not convenient.
Its a 13 weeks programme and then on the wm for 1 yr. I'm scared that i will end up too big for surgery. Plus i do not want to get any bigger and then they refuse me as I am still not guaranteed surgery upon completion of wm.
just so fed up with my battle with weight.

I am so sorry you were refused! I am waiting to hear from the PCT. My GP only referred me last week after telling me he would refer months ago. I hope you are able to get it one way or another.
I was reading a study saying they make their money back within 3-5 years by doing the surgery. There doesn't seem to be much forethought in the NHS.

Good Luck!!