• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Hello! I'm new here

JulesE

I thought I'd pop in and say Hello & introduce myself :wavey:

I'm new to SWL, but was a member of Minis a while ago.

I recently turned 35 and have struggled with my weight most of my life. I can't really ever remember not being on a diet of some sort.

Like most of you, I've tried all sorts of ways to lose weight......all the usual diets - Cambridge, Lighter Life, SW, WW, Atkins, slimming pills etc etc. All have proved unsuccessful for me (obviously primarily because of my lack or ability to stick to them!) and I am now heavier than I have ever been in my life. I have around 11 stones to lose.

Only recently have I been seriously considering surgery to shed the weight. I'm growing increasingly frustrated at the effect my mass is having on my life and that of my 3 year old son & wonderful husband. I want to be slim & healthy for myself and for my family.

I'm so unsure of where I go from here :confused: I think I'll have to pay for surgery as I don't have any real health problems (yet!) that would support an application for NHS funding. I had gestational diabetes but that seems to have cleared up since my baby was born.
So, I am here researching any & all info I can find. I'm sure I'll find lots of pointers on this site.

I look forward to getting to know you all more as I progress on my journey to surgery, slimdom and a healthier, happier life :)

Jules xx

Welcome Jules! I have 3 year old twin girls and trying to chase them is a chore. I would check out the BOSPA website and see what the PCT funding rules are for your PCT. I thought I would have to pay as well but found out that I am covered by the NHS since my PCT follows the NICE guidelines. Now I just have to bide my time and I won't have to pay.

HiYa Jules,
Welcome to the Weight loss section.
You will get loads of help and advice here.