• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Newbie here, considering gastric band!

Katie_25

Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I'm Katie and i've been browsing this forum for a couple of weeks or so now and I must say I find it very supportive and informative :).
I'm considering the gastric band and i've got a consultation booked for 17th Sept at the Nuffield hospital at Leeds with Professor Mcmahon. Has anyone had the prof, or had surgery at the Nuffield? Would be great to hear your experiences if you have.
I'm hoping to have the op done around Oct time if they agree to do the surgery. I'm having it done privately now as i've been knocked back twice for NHS since they've now changed the guidelines... damn PCT!
I'm really excited about having the band, but scared out of my wits at the same time. I've never had any surgery, never had to stay in hospital, I think the most serious illness i've had is flu, lol... although I do suffer with PCOS, which is very frustrating.
I have found reading posts of people's experiences on here very comforting though and it is putting my mind at ease, so just wanted to say thanks to everyone for that. I don't know anyone that's had WLS so forums such as these are very helpful! :)

Hi Katie

Good luck with your appointment, you will be booked in before you know it! You will be fine x

Hello Katie,

Wellcome to Minis.

Good luck with your appointment.

:) xxxxx

Thanks Mazza :), i'm trying to think of a list of questions to ask the surgeon when I go for my consultation as I know i'll probably get overwhelmed and forget half the things I wanted to ask, lol. Did anyone else do this?

helo katie wellcome to minis good luck for op looking forward to hearing how it goes ..............kath x

Thanks for the welcome Emma Louise and Kath :)