• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Total Newbie

truffle♥

hi everyone, im feeling a bit overwhelmed and exited about the decision I have made.
15+ years of yo-yo dieting are going to come to an end. I have tried literally everything and have just got steadily bigger, Im sure this is a familiar story.
A gastric band has been on my mind for a long time but something I thought i would not be able to have. Today though my lovely mother said she would pay for me to have it done privately. I was speechless overwhelmed but knew I had to grab this opportunity and try and break out of this miserable cycle.
As Im completely new to this I have a couple of questions.

Im from Devon and am thinking of going with thebariatric group, has anyone else had surgery in the south west/ recoomend good places.??

After your consultation how long do you have to wait for surgery?? could I book it for a couple of months away??

How long would i have to have off work( having a band) Im a nurse so job is quite active.

Many many thanks in advance:)

Hiya and congrats. From having my appt I was operated on 13 days later, it's that quick!!! Best part of going private. As for time off work I had 2 weeks off. You may need a little longer as your job is more active however?

Thanks Jo, i think im going to have to be patient because im going to need to book it as holiday and i know none is available till october/november. I figure this gives me plenty of time to get prepared xx

Oh no that's horrid having to wait :( I took hols too but I know of some who got signed off as sick for it! can't you beg work on the basis you're being reasonable and taking as annual leave?!?!?! patience....hmmm..tough! Lol