• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

GP finally referred me to Homerton

12lizzie12

Hi Guys,

I’m really new to this so would love to hear about your experiences. I went to see my Gp about my weight in February this year and he told me that my BMI was 45 (I’m 5’2). He told me that if I lost weight he would put me on orlistat. So I’ve managed to loose some weight and on Monday I had an appointment and he weighed me and told me my new bmi is 41. He was just about to prescribe orlistat but then a warning sign popped up that said it would interact with another medication I take. So he said he would refer me to the bariatric team at Homerton. So I have a few questions I’m hoping someone can answer.

1. How long did it take to get your first appointment with the bariatric team after referral from GP?
2. How long will the process take to actually getting accepted for weight loss surgery. As I have done some research and people that have been referred to Homerton seem to have the surgery 8 to 16 months after the 1st appointment.

Thanks guys!! X

Mazza

Administrator
Staff member
Hello and welcome, we have lots of members who had their ops at Homerton, so hopefully some of them will be along soon to help x

12lizzie12

Hey so I was referred by gp July 2015, first appointment was sep 2015, then, nov 15 feb 2016 and surgery was April 2016 xx
Hi Starryeyed,

Thank you for giving me an ideas of what your time line was like. Did you have to go through a weight management programme? I’ve been reading your weighloss journey and it’s so inspirational x

Sarnie

Hi Guys,