• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

NHS just turned me down

Helen82

Hi all,
This is my first time on this site after trawling the net for tummy tuck info and funding.
I have just had my decline letter from the NHS as I do not meet the PCT criteria.
My weight problems were due to a medical condition where I put 4 stone on in 6 months. Obviously this lead to massive stretch marks and the muscles damaged under the sudden strain. Even though the doctors said it would be virtually impossible for me to lose the weight due to insulin problems I have battled and won. I have lost 5 and half stone and am now a size 10. Apart from my stomach. I look pregnant
I am severly depressed about my baggy stomach and even though I am some what of an exercise and fitness addict I can't change its appearance. My issues towards my tummy has lead me to starve myself on some occasions and I am unable to look at myself in the mirror. I have also on some occasions pulled and squeezed the skin to the point of bruising through anger and frustration.
I lost my weight through Weight Watchers and I became the Weight Watchers magazine cover girl in December 2005 and I have since featured again. Photographers keep telling me to pursue modelling due to my height and so I'm told, natural ability. They do not know my ugly secret.
I have since put together a portfolio and some agencies are interested but I my confidence is knocked when it comes to my stomach.
I don't know where to turn next after the NHS has turned me down. We cannot afford to save for the £5000 op.
I'm so depressed. I have started a donation page on the below link, but can't see it making enough money by far.
Any suggestions????

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi and welcome Helen

I had to remove the link you placed in your post - you need to have been a member for longer, and post a bit more before you're allowed to do that :)