• Hi, If you cannot get into the site, be sure to Contact Us. Please be advised that the app is no longer in use!

Wilsnips diary

Wilsnip

I'm Wilsnip, a 47 year old from Hampshire. I weighed in at 19 stone spot on prior to starting my pre-op diet. I've always been big, I love all food, more savoury than sweet but I have the issue that I just eat too much of it, when my body doesnt need all that fuel. I love food and as a qualified chef I enjoy cooking as well.

So I know the correct way to cook food I.e low fat, low sugar etc. I completed tier 3 and went and had my consultation with Mr James Byrne.

All NHS bariatric surgery is done at the Spire in Southampton. At my pre-op appt they put a sticky thing on my foot and wrist to work out my body fat, couldn't believe it when it said I was 43% fat thats nearly half of me arrgh. I also got my pre-op diet sheet I decided to go with the milk one.

I started the milk one on 16th Oct ready for my band op on 30 October. I only managed one day as by the nighttime I had terrible diarrhoea. So I did the very low calorie diet which consisted of, 10 fl oz skimmed milk a day, breakfast of 1 weetabix, splash of milk. Lunch 2oz protein, salad and no oil dressing. Dinner, 2 oz protein, 1 small potato or 2 tablespoons of pasta or rice and veg but avoiding carrots, beetroot and parsnips, plus 2 pieces of fruit a day and the 1 1/2 litres of any other fluid. I managed to loose 13 pounds in the first week but only 1 pound in my second, which meant on the day of my op I weighed 18 stone.